Law and District AAC stars receive their prizes virtually

Law and District AAC’s outstanding performers were officially declared as champions at the club’s recent annual awards night by Zoom conference call.

Monday, 1st March 2021, 12:33 pm
Marathon man Richard Beattie was one of the main award winners (Pic by Bobby Gavin)

Around 60 people attended an event which couldn’t be held face to face at Cambusnethan Miners Club last November due to coronavirus.

Most Deserving Senior Male, Richard Beattie: Richard ran three full virtual marathons , raising £2,297.58 for Guide Dogs, Children With Cancer and Law AAC.

Most Deserving Junior Female, Tehillah Ikechukwu Okonkwo: Tehillah set two new U13 girls Scottish National indoor records to win both 60m and 200m national indoor titles in 2020.

Most Deserving Junior Male, Owen Murphy: Owen won the 60m indoor under-13 national at Emirates Areana title.

Sportsmanship Award, Ross Ferguson: U13 Ross completed a 10km and smashed his fundraising target for Glasgow Children's Hospital Charity.

Athletic Leader of the Year, Matthew Gillon: Matthew, 17, assisted coaches at Calderhead High School and also helped the U15 squad at Wishaw.

Volunteer of the Year, Karen Gillon and Darran Muir.

Team of the Year, Senior Men National Track Relays: Ross Hill, James Gillon, Donald Gilchrist, Matthew Gillon; Best Middle Distance Runner, Darran Muir; Best Placed at National Cross Country, Jessie Gilchrist; Fastest U15 1500m, Logan Whitton; Most Successful Sprinter, Tehillah Ikechukwu Okonkwo; Most Successful Thrower, Graeme Ferguson.

Road Race Championships 2020, U11 Endevour Awards: Johann Gillon, Cora Beattie, Ryan Muir and Ryan Kennedy; U13 Boys: 1st Daniel Simpson, 2nd = Ryan Kellock & Alex Orr, 3rd Calum Woods; U13 Girls: 1st Jessica Inglis, 2nd Rachel Stevenson, 3rd Susannah Kay; U15 Boys: 1st Oscar Logan, 2nd Craig Cherrie, 3rd Logan Whitton; U15 Girls: 1st Elizabeth Kay, 2nd Fiona Currie, 3rd Rosie Watson; U17 Men: 1st Cameron Fry, 2nd Finn Milligan & Levi Milligan, 3rd Donald Gilchrist; U17 Women: 1st Nina Fyfe, 2nd Rachel Donnelly; U20 Men: 1st James Gillon, 2nd James McClafferty, 3rd Matthew Gillon; Senior Men: 1st Darran Muir, 2nd Richard Beattie, 3rd Ross Hill; Senior Women: 1st Vicky Harrison, 2nd Margaret Newell, 3rd Jennifer Beattie.