Clydesdale Sports Personality Awards 2014 Slideshow

LANARK’S Cartland Bridge Hotel was packed to capacity for Clydesdale Sports Council Sports Personality of the Year Awards dinner.

More than 200 people – including South Lanarkshire Provost Eileen Logan and compere Brian Donald – attended an event which saw Clydesdale’s sporting stars honoured for their outstanding achievements.

“The depth of sporting talent in this area is stunning,” said Brian.

The first award, presented by Provost Logan, was the Gents Personality scooped by Lesmahagow bowling ace Iain McLean. The Blackwood Victoria BC member is the outdoor and indoor Scottish Singles champ and is in Scotland’s Commonwealth Games Elite Squad.

Gents runner-up was Lanark swimmer Ross McCafferty, 200m backstroke champ at the Scottish National Long Course Championships.

Ladies personality, presented by Councillor Hamish Stewart, was Lanark athlete Phyllis Hands, 3000m champ at the Scottish Masters Championships.

Carluke bowler Joyce Brand was runner-up, after qualifying for the Scottish Singles Championship.

Carluke Rotary Club’s Archie Ralston presented the Junior Female prize to Carluke’s Pamela McNicol, under-16 indoor pentathlon winner at last year’s Scottish National Championships.

Runner-up was Pamela’s sister Emily, third in under-16 high jump and pentathlon at the same championships.Taekwon-do ace Saphire Gilmour was third.

The Junior Male award, presented by Glenmuir’s Elaine Fox, was Lesmahagow’s Angus Barr, 1500m freestyle champion at the 2013 British Swimming Championships.

Second place went to Coalburn bowler Greg McLaughlin, who skipped his pair to victory for a record third time at the Scottish Junior Pairs. Sprint kayak ace Nathan Low was third.

Lesmahagow Bowling Club Junior Pairs Scottish champs Greg McLaughlin and Ross Meikle got the Junior Team prize from Johan Steele.

Senior Team honours, presented by Gillian Brooks, went to Lesmahagow Juniors FC, who in 2013 got promoted to Superleague Division 1.

Lanark’s Allyson Ross, the only Scot selected for the Great Britain Pony Club Mounted Games Team that competed in the International Pony Club Mounted Games Championship, scooped the Services to Equestrian Sport prize from Jim Forrest.

Councillor Catherine McClymont presented the Coach of the Year prize to Gow Valley FC coach Billy MacDonald, whose team won the domestic treble in 2013.

Clydesdale Sports Council chairman Millar Stoddart inducted football aces Jim Holton and Hugh Curran, from Lesmahagow and Carstairs Junction respectively, into the Hall of Fame along with Braidwood badminton player Carol Tedman. David Coates accepted a prize on behalf of his late uncle Jim, with Hugh Curran’s prize collected by brother Ronnie and nephew Lawrence.

Thanks go to John Prior for taking the photos.