Clydesdale Community Service Awards 2014 Slideshow

Waiting for Video...

OUR Hidden Army of good-hearted folk who devote their spare time to making all our lives here in Clydesdale that wee bit better have won some rare but very well-deserved recognition.

Every year people who volunteer to help out on everything from running old folks’ outings to major town and village celebrations are invited along to a special `Oscar’ ceremony, the Community Service Awards.

Each councillor around South Lanarkshire nominates someone from their community they feel deserves this public pat-on-the-back and Clydesdale’s contingent recently stepped up to receive their awards at the 2014 ceremony.

Happily, their host, the current Provost of South Lanarkshire, was a well-kent face to most of them, being Carluke’s veteran councillor Eileen Logan.

Our Roll of Honour that night included Margot Yates of Lanark, Kate Cowan of Douglas, Esther Serrels of Blackwood and Kirkmuirhill, Matt Smith of Law, Lex Kennedy of New Lanark, Robert Kirkhope of Lanark and Millar Stoddart, also Lanark.

Two groups also received awards, namely the Rotary Club of Carluke and Forth and District Initiative Group.

For the full story, pick up a copy of this week’s Carluke and Lanark Gazette.

The pictures featured in our slideshow were taken by South Lanarkshire Council photographer David Gordon.




Back to the top of the page